John Cotter
John Cotter Derek Barry

GasField commissioners named

THE six men told to return the community's faith to the coal seam gas industry have been named.

Deputy Premier Jeff Seeney said the six GasFields Commissioners - led by chairman John Cotter - would mediate between communities, land owners and the industry.

"We said we would appoint a chairman in the 100 Day Action Plan; we selected John Cotter for this important role and now we've chosen commissioners from diverse backgrounds to help continue the Queensland Government's ongoing commitment to regional communities," he said.

The new commissioners are former Taroom mayor Don Stiller, cotton farmer and irrigator Ian Hayllor, Western Downs mayor Ray Brown, petrol industry boss Rick Wilkinson, academic and soil scientist Professor Steven Raine and former lawyer and Surat Basin researcher Shane Charles.

The group would now look to 55 public submissions on how the commission should operate.

Heart attack research breakthrough

Premium Content Heart attack research breakthrough

New research may lead to gender-based therapies for heart disease

Where $200 tourism vouchers could go next

Premium Content Where $200 tourism vouchers could go next

The Palaszczuk government has left the door open to expanding its $200 voucher...

Stanthorpe celebrates buskers after tumultuous year

Premium Content Stanthorpe celebrates buskers after tumultuous year

After Covid stripped many musicians of an income, 2021 busking championships have...